Frequently Asked Questions

There have been some questions on building a Order of Battle for the Noctilith Crusade and other general topics . I will try to answer them as best that I can.


Q: Does the Order of Battle (think Kill Team Roster) have to Battle Forged?

A: The Order of Battle does not, but you will need to have units in your Order of Battle that will allow you to build Battle Forged Detachments when you play game.


Q: When my units are destroyed in my games are they dead dead?

A: Crusade has a similar step at the end of the battle as Kill Team did called Out of Action step. For each unit taken destroyed, roll a d6. On a 1 that unit has to loose XP or take a Battle Scar. We are adding a little more risk to being destroyed. If you roll a roll 2d6. If the results of the 2d6 roll is 3+ you may choose a Devastating Blow or Battle Scar. On a roll of 2 that unit is removed from your Order of Battle – with the exception of Relics, all buffs to that unit are lost. Relics can be given to the replacement Character or an existing Character (provided they qualify) for no additional RP.


Q: What do you mean by WSYIWYG?

A: WSYIWYG Clarification – You should have all the significant weapons that your models are equipped with modeled on the model. What do we mean “significant weapons”? Swords, Powerfists, Thunder Hammers, etc. These weapons don’t have to be brandished, but should be attached to the model in some way – in holster, in scabbard, stuck in the ground at their feet, or some other way to attach it to the model that looks good.

Weapons that you don’t have to model on if you don’t want are grenades, pistols, generic combat weapon (no datasheet type weapons), etc. My rule of thumb is, if you forget that the model has this weapon most of the time, you don’t need to model it.

Basically, if it is a useful weapon you should model it for your opponents benefit and so that you remember the model is equipped with it.


Q: What is Battle Ready Standard?

A: From a Warhammer Community post from 5/21/2019, “Battle Ready models have their main areas coloured and an simple finish on their bases.”


Q: I’ve looked at crusade rules and haven’t really seen it but can you spend a requisition point to make a chief apothecary?

A: Normally yes, but we have a rule that there will be no Named Characters in the first Phase – the missions aren’t important enough yet. That extends to one of a kind or rare Characters like master of the forge, chief apothecary, and in my view, even Captains. There is a possible way to work the narrative to include a Space Marine Captain, but since there are basically only 10 in an entire Chapter, I see them as only for later missions.