Crusade Blessings – We’ve Been Doing it Wrong

So, I was just watching a GMG Crusade video, Craftworld Eldar vs. Ultramarines, and Ash specified that the Owen would only get 1 extra CP because one of the Ultramarines that had Crusade Points wasn’t getting deployed game. I thought that he screwed up (not an unheard of thing since they play so many different games on the channel), because that isn’t how I had interpreted the rules (see below).


When two Battle-forged Crusade armies battle each other, it is likely that one or the other will be more experienced. To determine this, after players have mustered their armies, both players should compare the combined Crusade points of all the units that are on their army rosters. If there is a difference, then the player whose army roster has the lower total number of Crusade points gains a number of bonus Command points to use in that battle equal to half the difference (rounding up). This represents high command funnelling additional
resources to the underdog to help them combat a more elite foe.

CRB-RO pg 138

We had initially interpreted “army roster” as “Order of Battle” but rereading the “Selecting A Crusading Army” section it was pretty clear that the Battle-forged army is selected from your Order of Battle – thus the army roster is the list of units from your Order of Battle being deployed for that mission. Oops.

Questions on Building Order of Battle

There have been some questions on building a Order of Battle for the Noctilith Crusade. I will try to answer them as best that I can.

============================================

Q: Does the Order of Battle (think Kill Team Roster) have to Battle Forged?

A: The Order of Battle does not, but you will need to have units in your Order of Battle that will allow you to build Battle Forged Detachments when you play game.

============================================

Q: When my units are destroyed in my games are they dead dead?

A: Crusade has a similar step at the end of the battle as Kill Team did called Out of Action step. For each unit taken destroyed, roll a d6. On a 1 that unit has to loose XP or take a Battle Scar. We are adding a little more risk to being destroyed. If you roll a roll 2d6. If the results of the 2d6 roll is 3+ you may choose a Devastating Blow or Battle Scar. On a roll of 2 that unit is removed from your Order of Battle – with the exception of Relics, all buffs to that unit are lost. Relics can be given to the replacement Character or an existing Character (provided they qualify) for no additional RP.