Crusade Blessings – We’ve Been Doing it Wrong

So, I was just watching a GMG Crusade video, Craftworld Eldar vs. Ultramarines, and Ash specified that the Owen would only get 1 extra CP because one of the Ultramarines that had Crusade Points wasn’t getting deployed game. I thought that he screwed up (not an unheard of thing since they play so many different games on the channel), because that isn’t how I had interpreted the rules (see below).


When two Battle-forged Crusade armies battle each other, it is likely that one or the other will be more experienced. To determine this, after players have mustered their armies, both players should compare the combined Crusade points of all the units that are on their army rosters. If there is a difference, then the player whose army roster has the lower total number of Crusade points gains a number of bonus Command points to use in that battle equal to half the difference (rounding up). This represents high command funnelling additional
resources to the underdog to help them combat a more elite foe.

CRB-RO pg 138

We had initially interpreted “army roster” as “Order of Battle” but rereading the “Selecting A Crusading Army” section it was pretty clear that the Battle-forged army is selected from your Order of Battle – thus the army roster is the list of units from your Order of Battle being deployed for that mission. Oops.

Weapon Enhancement Upgrades

I was watching Mini War Gaming’s first 9th edition Crusade battle report with Dave running Orks and Skari playing Yannari (Drukhari). It was fun, but I did learn something. When they were discussion Weapon Enhancement upgrades on leveled up units they were taking two for each unit. I had to go back to the rules and check to see if they were doing it correctly. Looks like they were, if you took a weapon enhancement for a unit that WAS NOT a Titanic, Character, Vehicle, or Monster then you are supposed to roll BOTH a d3 AND d6 (re-rolling duplicates).

Did any one that chose a weapon enhancement do it correctly? I know that I didn’t.

Aug 18 Draft of Additional Rules

Here is the link to the current draft of the Noctilith Crusade special rules. I need to test out some of the Phase 2 and Phase 3 special rules to see how they work. Sorry, these special rules are very harsh, but very, very narrative for the fluff that GW has given us for the Pariah Nexus. It will be interesting to see how GW progresses with the story.

Please feel free to leave comments and questions below. I am pretty sure that I haven’t thought of everything. Some of the rules are based on things that came up from our Kickoff Meeting.

Additional Noctilith Crusade Rules

Combat Squads in 9th Edition Crusade

So, does using the Combat Squad ability count as 2 squads when building a Battle Forged Detachment? Nope. Combat Squad spits during Deployment. But with Combat Squad, you don’t need to have separate Crusade Cards, they are just one big happy unit. Albeit on different sides of the board. LOL (See BRB page 327 the Crusade Appendix)

Both Combat Squad units have to be destroyed to force an Out of Action test. And tallying XP for each combat squad is done on the same Crusade Card, meaning that if either Combat Squad killed something it gets marked on the same sheet… Which I guess, is like split firing and killing two different units.

But Combat Squads count as 2 separate drops, so I would think that they would have two cards…. but it explicitly says there is only one Crusade Card and that both units have to be killed to count as the Squad being killed.

On the down side, your opponent would get to count killing each Combat Squad unit as a unit for tallying their Dealers of Death count.